Cannot access files on 1TB MBL

I have been searching, but have not found this same problem I have been having, or any help, so I’ll try to explain here.

I have been using the MBL for a few years with no problems, setup a new Win 8.1 Laptop last month, all has been working fine, until this past Thursday.

This is what I am facing now:

• MBL is recognized on the network, Static IP (confirmed no conflict)

• The MBL dashboard functions no problem, indicates 137gb of 992 used

• When click on the Public Folder (where all my files are), in either Win Explorer or when trying to Map A Drive, it gives the “Windows cannot access \MYBOOKLIVE\Public” network error, with the error code of 0x80070043 “The network name cannot be found”

I have tried:

• Updating MBL firmware, which was up to date already

• resetting the MBL

• adding a password to the MBL through the dashboard

• Netbios over TCP/IP  is enabled

• MBL has static IP, tried dynamic as well

• removed the LAN in Device Manager and then reinstalled it.

• tried it with all Anti-Viruses off totally (Trend Micro)

• router firmware upgraded (E1200)

There have been no new programs installed recently and everything is up to date.

I am at a total loss right now and need help bad. I have already sent a log to WD help, hope to hear back soon.

Any ideas/suggestions in the mean time?

mtbvert wrote:

… it gives the “Windows cannot access \MYBOOKLIVE\Public” network error, with the error code of 0x80070043 “The network name cannot be found”

Unless that’s a typo, then that’s the problem.   You have two backslashes ( ‘\’ ) between the host name and share name.  Should just be one.

TonyPh12345, I’m pretty sure that is a typo on my part, but I will confirm when I get home.

TonyPh12345, i confirmed it was a typo, i will edit the OP.

On a side note, how long does it really take to hear back from WD after a ticket is submitted?

What happens if you try by IP address instead?

\ip.of.your.mbl\Public