Can not longer access mybooklive/UI/#

I was referring to when I initially tried to upgrade the firmware. Once the UI is dead, there is no way to update the firmware - you have a brick and can only send it back to WD to receive a re-certified unit.

Hey jstrathma,

Thanks for the post about me finding a new job. Appreciate it. (BTW - We are aquiring Hitachi, so I will have to look at the other companies).

That being said, we are still awaiting drives that are being sent through our customer service center. Once we have drives that exhibit this behaviour, we will be able to hopefully get to the bottom of this.

Also, I am not a Moderator. I am a product manager - so seeing these kinds of issues and the results of lots of hard work by the teams here tainted by these kinds of issues pisses me off. I don’t want any of you to have these issues, but no matter how much we try, we can never catch everything.

I am also trying to figure out a way we can help customers that get into this situation. I think that Myron may have mentioned this, but one way may be to change the behaviour of the reset button. Holding it in for 10+ seconds would factory reset without losing data. I have submitted that as a request to the development team to look at for future firmware updates.

ok - back to updating my resume…

WD Tony, there is a few things that you can do to ease some of your customers woes in this stuation.

How about giving them new drives instead of refurbished ones and also a prepaid label so the bricked units can be returned for free.

You could also ensure that customers correspondence is answered.

This sort of gesture will at least make us feel like WD care and will help with brand loyalty. I fully understand that things go wrong, bur it’s how the company behave after thats important.

Thanks for your suggestion but I live in argentina and the Warranty is no longer valid here. :angry: