Alternative to WebDAV for remote access?

Wow!  You’re a lucky man with those speeds.  Still I thought 30 up  was better for 1080p but I’m no expert.

You can set your mybooklive to act as an sftp server.  Then use xbmc to watch the videos. 

Another option is that after setting up the mybooklive as an sftp server, you can use the free netdrive program to automatically map/mount your mybook live every time your laptop is turned on.  This way, your mybooklive is a virtual hard drive everywhere you go.  So then you can access all your files not just videos with any program you have on your laptop just like if you had a flash drive or another hard drive mounted on your computer all the time.

The below options are both free unless your router forces you to use a DDNS from a company that isn’t free (you might be able to flash ddwrt on some routers to make it free but that’s more effort).

Note, do the below at your own risk.  Both options will void your mybooklive warranty.  And I don’t guarantee that even your fast speeds are fast enough to make things run smoothly.  Both options are difficult to set up so be prepared to spend some time and maybe not even be able to figure it out at all.  I got both to work, but my  speeds just weren’t fast enough unfortunately (pictures were fine, but video sucked). 

The netdrive option is easier as an FYI.  Though I LOVE xbmc, I couldn’t get the video thumbnail previews to work when using sftp (only through local SMB).  I’m sure there is a way - but I just couldn’t figure it out.

If you do decide to try either of these options, can you post back to let me know if you got things to work smoothly?  I have a friend who has higher internet speeds who’d be interested.  Also, if you end up getting video thumbnail previews to work remotely, PLEASE post instructions.  Good luck.

SFTP AND NETDRIVE