WD Smartware Backup and Retrieve greyed out

I have been wrestling with Smartware for 6 months now.  My dream for a remote backup software is something (a) easy to use, and (b) “just works” (see a).  Smartware is far from that.  I even shelled out for Smartware Pro in hopes that they saves the good stuff for the money payers, but it really is no better.  The UI is opaque, the software is poorly documented, the tech support is weak and (most importantly) is doesn’t “just work”.

The problem of the “greyed out back up and retrieve” is cited in a number of Forums.  After nearly an entire day of troubleshooting this issue with multiple long calls with Tech Support and doing every solution proposed (reboots, reinstalls, resets), we finally seemed to come up with a solution - TURN THE FIREWALL OFF.

Voila.  Not so fast. 

Problem 1 - The whole purpose of an over-the-air backup system is to incrementally backup constantly.  I can’t really have my Firewall off all the time.

Problem 2 - It doesn’t solve it completely.  Turning the firewall off does all Smartware to finally connect to the WD MyCloud…but it doesn’t stay connected.  I periodically checked on the backup process and regularly find that the Smartware has disconnected itself from the MyCloud (ie.  Backup and Retrieve greyed out) and I would have to manually reconnect.

I have tried configuring the Firewall…

1.  Setting Smartware as an program allowed through the Firewall.

2.  Enabling WD Smartware in the Advanced Setting rules.

But even with these modifications, the Smartware would not connect unless I turned the Firewall completely off.