Reply
Occasional Advisor
randoman
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-03-2012
0

Cannot reach dashboard + software installation problem

Hi there,

I just got my device yesterday and I am not very impressed so far. I had the classic "Runtime error" problem, and at least partially fixed it with the 500MB download and copying of the software onto the Mybook.

So now I have the drive mapped under Windows XP and I have WD Quick View running.

 

What does not work, however, are two things:

 

1) When I try to install WD Smart Ware by executing "WD SmartWare Setup (x64).msi" from the Mybook directly, I get an error message saying: "The installer has encountered an unexpected error installing this package. This may indicate a problem with this package. The error code is 2753."

 

2) When I try to connect to the dashboard using the IP address that was assigned to the Mybook, IE gives me the message that "Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage". Connecting to my router's web interface, for example, however, works fine.

 

Any thoughts?

Thanks!

Honored Contributor
Alucardx23
Posts: 4,266
Registered: ‎01-14-2012
0

Re: Cannot reach dashboard + software installation problem

[ Edited ]

Hi, check if this smartware installation works and see if you can access the dashboard using WD link.

Click the Kudos star to say thank you for helpful posts and be sure to come back and 'Accept as Solution' under options for the post that solved your issue.
Occasional Advisor
randoman
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-03-2012
0

Re: Cannot reach dashboard + software installation problem

Thanks for the hints. I downloaded WD link -- I can find the MyBook, but when I click "Configure", it simply starts up my browser with the MyBook IP address. This fails, as it has failed before.

 

Regarding the updated software, I am downloading it now. What exactly di you suggest I try doing with it? Copy over to the MyBook duo again and run it from there?

 

Thanks!

Occasional Advisor
randoman
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-03-2012
0

Re: Cannot reach dashboard + software installation problem

Actually the software you pointed me to is the exact release I downloaded before and which did not work :smileysad:

Honored Contributor
Alucardx23
Posts: 4,266
Registered: ‎01-14-2012
0

Re: Cannot reach dashboard + software installation problem

Try to connect the MBL directly to the computer and chk if the problem continues.

Click the Kudos star to say thank you for helpful posts and be sure to come back and 'Accept as Solution' under options for the post that solved your issue.
Occasional Advisor
randoman
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-03-2012
0

Re: Cannot reach dashboard + software installation problem

Hi,

 

I tried to directly connect computer and MBL, and the problem persists. What happens is the following:

 

- Windows tells me that I have "Limited or no connectivity" on my LAN connection

- But WD Quick View finds the MBL and displays its status

- Apparently it was assigned the IP 169.254.5.170 (instead of 168.192.0.x that it always gets on the WLAN)

- But I still cannot access the dashboard via the browser

 

I am getting a little desparate here...

 

Thanks!

Occasional Advisor
randoman
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-03-2012
0

Re: Cannot reach dashboard + software installation problem

Okay...this is crazy. I went on a three-week business trip and borrowed another computer to check if something was wrong with my regular computer's configuration. All of a sudden, I can access the UI.

 

So essentially: Done nothing, problem fixed. This is strange...

Community Manager
Bill_S
Posts: 7,480
Registered: ‎11-24-2009
0

Re: Cannot reach dashboard + software installation problem

Check your computer to make sure that you have the latest version of IE and Windows Updates.


Click the Kudos star to say thank you for helpful posts. And be sure to come back to click the 'Accept as Solution' button for the post that solved your issue. This may help someone else.
Occasional Advisor
randoman
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-03-2012
0

Re: Cannot reach dashboard + software installation problem

Actually my system was fully updated and I also tried it using the latest version of Firefox. Maybe it was the additional reboot of my MBL that finally made it work...

Forums | Ideas | News and Announcements | Register | Sign in | Help | Forum Guidelines
Copyright © 2001 - 2014 Western Digital Technologies, Inc. All rights reserved. | Trademarks | Privacy | Community Terms of Service | Site Terms of Use | Copyright | Contact WD