Reply
Occasional Advisor
Abbadabba2
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-27-2011
0

SmartWare

I just purchased My Book Essential 1TB HD.  I purchased it to back up files, especially two large websites I have.  What is SmartWare and do I need to load it when all I need is storage?

Honored Contributor
Joe_S
Posts: 5,171
Registered: ‎08-04-2010
0

Re: SmartWare

Smartware may not work it is selective on what type of files it backsup.

Joe

Click the Kudos star to say thank you for helpful posts. And be sure to come back to click the 'Accept as Solution' button for the post that solved your issue.
Occasional Advisor
Abbadabba2
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-27-2011
0

Re: SmartWare

Is that all it is....backup?

Occasional Advisor
Abbadabba2
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-27-2011
0

Re: SmartWare

Windows now says I have this update....what is this?  I just loaded the program yesterday afternoon?

 

Western Digital Technologies - Other hardware - WD SES Device

Download size: 21 KB

You may need to restart your computer for this update to take effect.

Update type: Recommended

Western Digital Technologies Other hardware software update released in January, 2011

More information:
http://winqual.microsoft.com/support/?driverid=20408167

Help and Support:
http://support.microsoft.com/select/?target=hub

Occasional Advisor
Abbadabba2
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-27-2011
0

Re: SmartWare

Trying to find this forum useful, but having hard time...?

Honored Contributor
Joe_S
Posts: 5,171
Registered: ‎08-04-2010
0

Re: SmartWare

I don't use Smartware but look in that forum. Bill posted some things there to help.

Joe

Click the Kudos star to say thank you for helpful posts. And be sure to come back to click the 'Accept as Solution' button for the post that solved your issue.
Honored Contributor
RoofingGuy
Posts: 2,871
Registered: ‎08-30-2010
0

Re: SmartWare

[ Edited ]

If all you're using it for is storage, then you can get away with not installing SmartWare, or uninstalling SmartWare if it's already installed.

 

The MyBook Essential drives work fine as plain ol' drives.  I'm using 4 that way at the moment.

 

 

 

SmartWare is essentially a backup manager.  But it's selective in which of your user files it backs up... it's not a "system backup" tool.

 

People who want to back up their photos are happy enough with it.  Anyone using the drives for full backups, uses other programs, and anyone using the drives just as drives, just accesses them from Explorer or the file requesters in any application.

 

 

 

The "SES Driver" is for the communications channel between the drive and the PC.  The drive will work as a drive without the driver installed, but you'll keep getting the nags to install the driver every time you attach the drive.  In this case it's used for the password functionality and for the little LEDs that show how full the drive is.  You're fine updating the driver so that Windoze will stop bugging you about the update it has found.

Occasional Visitor
schimmy
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-15-2011
0

Re: SmartWare

Can I use Smartware as a backup manager and also just use the drive as a normal drive that I copy and paste to?  Can I copy and paste the same files that get backed up by Smartware just so I have them organized differently??

Honored Contributor
RoofingGuy
Posts: 2,871
Registered: ‎08-30-2010
0

Re: SmartWare

Yep... you can use the drive as a normal drive.

Occasional Visitor
Dave_S
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-16-2011
0

Re: SmartWare

Hi I'm new to this... I just bought a 2T My Book Essential and just want it as storage but when I installed the SmartWare it backs up everything and I delete the file from C: , when I restart my computer it Restores it back to C:... So if I delete or uninstall the SmartWare it will work fine? or would it be best to put some other software?

Forums | Ideas | News and Announcements | Register | Sign in | Help | Forum Guidelines
Copyright © 2001 - 2014 Western Digital Technologies, Inc. All rights reserved. | Trademarks | Privacy | Community Terms of Service | Site Terms of Use | Copyright | Contact WD