My Book Essential 2.0 Makes Windows XP Pro Hangs At Boot Up

I’ve been using a My Book 500 gb external drive for about 2 years on my older Windows XP PRO machine.  A couple of days ago, except for a few moments here and there, it stopped showing up in Windows Explorer and in Disk Management. It still showed up in Device Manager.  I just purchased a new 1.5 tb My Book Essential 3.0/2.0  drive and while Windows can see it, my computer now hangs on a blank screen when it boots up.  If I disconnect the drive and then reboot, Windows gets to the logon screen, where I can re-connect the drive and finish booting into Windows with no additional problems from there.  I’ve gone into the BIOS and disable Legacy USB support and booting  from USB devices (which are the solutions suggested by WD Support) but  it hasn’t fixed the problem.  I also tried using the Intel Chipset Software Installation Utility to fix any USB driver issues but that also didn’t work, and neither did running chkdsk /r on the c drive.  I can’t get it to run on the new external drive yet . 

I believe the reboot hang started after the old external drive developed a problem and continued with the new drive.  It’s like the external drive corrupted Windows–but chkdsk found some bad sectors on the c drive and fixed them.  Has anyone else come across this with any version of Windows and were you able to solve the problem?