Reply
Member
RonBurn44
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-07-2012
0
Accepted Solution

Installation of WD Smartware

Got disk today. After upgrading with latest firmware and software, couldn't install WD software - got message: Windows cannot find C:\Program Files(x86)\Western Digital\WDSmartWare.exe. I have subsequently copied files to the disk but would like the back-up software. Where have I gone wrong? I am using Windows 7 on a Dell XPS17.

Member
RonBurn44
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-07-2012
0

Re: Installation of WD Smartware

I have inadvertently abbreviated my error message. It should read: 'Windows cannot find C:\Program Files(x86)\Western Digital\WD Smartware\Front Parlor\WDSmartWare.exe'. The file is actually located in C:\Program Files\Western Digital and I think it is something to do with my computer being 64 bit.

 

Member
RonBurn44
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-07-2012
0

Re: Installation of WD Smartware

I have further info to add. When I now try double-clicking on the file 'WDSmartWare.exe' that came with the drive, I get the message: 'Exception Assertion! File=.\ApolloDrive.cpp Line-936'. I guess I need to reinstall but am unsure how to do that. I can no longer even get access to the user manual.

 

Occasional Visitor
jasinvt
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-05-2012
0

Re: Installation of WD Smartware

Says solved. Where is solution?  This back-up drive is looking more and more like a **bleep**

Occasional Visitor
mdalzell
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-09-2012
0

Re: Installation of WD Smartware


jasinvt wrote:

Says solved. Where is solution?  This back-up drive is looking more and more like a **bleep**


Yeah same here... I tried copying the directory into the Program Files(x86) folder to trick it but that Front Parlor directory it's looking for doesn't even exist in the original installation.  The drive worked when I first plugged it in yesterday but now it's useless.

Occasional Visitor
notadj25
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-22-2012
0

Re: Installation of WD Smartware

had the same problem, and message... can't say I found a solution, however, I did reinstall the windows smartware software 2 more times, and then the problem worked itself out. can't explain how this worked, or why, but maybe try reinstalling a few times and continue checking each time to see if it works. hope it helps!

Honored Contributor
Wizer
Posts: 3,894
Registered: ‎04-04-2011
0

Re: Installation of WD Smartware


mdalzell wrote:

jasinvt wrote:

Says solved. Where is solution?  This back-up drive is looking more and more like a **bleep**


Yeah same here... I tried copying the directory into the Program Files(x86) folder to trick it but that Front Parlor directory it's looking for doesn't even exist in the original installation.  The drive worked when I first plugged it in yesterday but now it's useless.


jasinvt and mdalzell

 

 

The OP has a 64 bit OS.. If you do as well then running the x86 will not work.

 

Uninstall the software and then run the installation from the smartware application on the drive

 

it will auto find the correct installer package for your OS

Click the Kudos star to say thank you for helpful posts and be sure to come back and 'Accept as Solution' under options for the post that solved your issue.
Honored Contributor
Vadir
Posts: 1,220
Registered: ‎10-26-2010
0

Re: Installation of WD Smartware

What I recommend is to install the latest version of SmartWare, you can download it from here.

Click the Kudos star to say thank you for helpful posts and be sure to come back and click 'Accept as Solution' under options, for the post that solved your issue.
Occasional Visitor
DarylS
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-04-2012
0

Re: Installation of WD Smartware

That did not work either.  It went through all the motions and at the last second I got the message:  "Installation unsuccessful (Error Code 1603).  Please try again or contact WD support for assistance."  Tried the process twice and got the same result.

Honored Contributor
Wizer
Posts: 3,894
Registered: ‎04-04-2011
0

Re: Installation of WD Smartware


DarylS wrote:

That did not work either.  It went through all the motions and at the last second I got the message:  "Installation unsuccessful (Error Code 1603).  Please try again or contact WD support for assistance."  Tried the process twice and got the same result.


then contact support about this issue

 

http://support.wdc.com/contact/index.asp?wdc_lang=en

Click the Kudos star to say thank you for helpful posts and be sure to come back and 'Accept as Solution' under options for the post that solved your issue.
Forums | Ideas | News and Announcements | Register | Sign in | Help | Forum Guidelines
Copyright © 2001 - 2013 Western Digital Corporation, All rights reserved. | Trademarks | Privacy | Terms of Service | Terms of Use | Copyright | Contact WD