Acronis or WD Software or Both?

Hi Everyone,

I just bought a new WD Essential external drive that I want to use only for backing up my laptop’s internal. I’m really new to this, and came across a couple of questions, so thought I should stop and ask before I even plug the thing in.

1. If I use the Acronis software, do I need the WD software installed at all, or can Acronis do all of the backup features of the WD software? I read the Acronis manual and it seems pretty inclusive, but again, I’m pretty ignorant here, so ease plays a factor. I just want my stuff safe. :slight_smile:

2. One reason I found the Acronis software at all is because I suppose I should make a clone in case my drive fails. I read somewhere in researching (here maybe? Can’t find it now…) that if I try to restore my cloned drive from my WD Essential back to an internal that isn’t a WD drive, it won’t work. Is that the case? Or is it fine as long as a WD drive is connected and somewhere ‘in the loop?’ Seems crazy if not.

Thanks for your thoughts. It’s a bit daunting setting this up because I don’t want there to be any problems if I ever actually need to do the restore. 

The 2 programs are very different. Smartware only backs up select file types not the whole system. As far as the Acronis if you are talking about the WD version it’s based on the 2009 edition and will not do incremental backups and the boot CD you make may not work. I use Acronis TI paid I would recomend that. You also need to make the boot CD for it. If you buy it Acronis has an updated ISO you can download. I boot from the CD and make an image not a clone. Restore takes 15-20 min. Acronis also has a very helpful forum for any problems.

Joe

2 Likes

Thanks, Joe! Great info and pretty important to know that the boot cd might not work! That’s something I would think should’ve been addressed if WD is offering it to all their customers!