Trying to connect 1tb passport essential se to ps3

Hello everyone newbie here. I have a USB 1tb wd essential SE passport and I can’t get my ps3 to recognize it. Drives been updated and formatted to fat32. There is now pw set. So i’m pretty much stumped.  There is nothing wrong with the drive because it works fine on my mac and pc. When its connected to the ps3 the led light won’t even come on. I can feel the drive working so i know it has power.  I have a passport 500gb that works on the ps3 so i know the unit is not the prob. I’m wondering if the problem is that its a usb 3.0? Its 2.0 compatible. Has anyone had any luck getting one of these to work on a ps3? or any suggestions. thanks in advance

It’s probably the USB 3.0.

Joe

@Jerry.

I hear and feel your pain.

Here’s how it went for me…

I purchased a 1TB passport.  Reformatted it to FAT32, connected it to my Macbook, transferred over my video files etc, connected it to my PS3 and it was fine… everything worked.

Took the HD to work and connected it to my work PC, instantly errors started appearing on-screen, requiring the WD Smartware software to be able to access the drive… installed WD Smartware onto the work PC.  Everything a-okay.   Take it home, plug it into the PS3 and nothing… a brief flash on-screen of a drive showing and then it disappears.

I believe the issue is to do with the WD Smartware software. 

I think the steps to resolve this would be the following:

• Copy all content off the harddrive.

• Re-format the device to FAT32 (to remove whatever the WD Smartware auto-installed). (Maybe even write zeros to try and avoid the whole software thing at all, but not sure if the virtual cd’s etc are on protected/hidden partitions).

• Copy the content back to the drive.  

• Uninstall WD Smartware from Mac and PC computers. 

• Use the device on all platforms clicking “cancel” to the errors that show asking for WD Smartware.