WD My Book Studio Edition II - extremely slow

There has been a few posts about My Book external hard drives being slow but nowhere I can find solutions or even proper technical info. It doesn’t look like WD reps/techs check these forums so we are left to just troubleshoot amongst ourselves.

Here’s background info about my system setup:

• MacBook Pro

• Processor: 2.6 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo

• Memory: 4 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM

I am a professional photographer and I bought My Book Studio Edition II (RAID 1 config) hoping to archive my large library of digital images (DNG, RAW, JPEG, Lightroom catalogs). Unfortunately this hard drive is extremely slow. Just as example I transferred 126 MB from my CompactFlash memory card to the laptop’s internal hard drive via USB 2.0 and it took about 5 seconds to complete. Same files transferred from internal hard drive to My Book Studio took over 2 minutes. Then to compare outgoing speed I have also transferred those files back to memory card and it completed in 12 seconds.

Here’s full data I was able to collect in my testing (exact same files 126 MB):

CF card (Sandisk Extreme III) → MacBook Pro internal hard drive  … 5 seconds

MacBook Pro internal hard drive → CF card (Sandisk Extreme III) … 12 seconds

MacBook Pro internal hard drive → My Book Studio Edition II (FireWire 800) … 136 seconds

My Book Studio Edition II (FireWire 800) → MacBook Pro internal hard drive … 13 seconds

MacBook Pro internal hard drive → My Passport Studio (USB 2.0 & FireWire 800) … under 5 seconds

My Passport Studio (USB 2.0 & FireWire 800) → MacBook Pro internal hard drive … under 5 seconds

I have also started testing this drive with USB 2.0 but I’ve stopped after 40 seconds. It obviously isn’t the problem with cables or ports because I have tested them with other external drives. I have installed latest firmware and WD Macintosh +TURBO drivers. No noticeable improvement.