Solved problem re Passport that wouldn't mount on Mac!

Mac users, try powering down, and then as soon as you hear the chime hold down the Option/Alt key. (if you don’t want to read my long post and are trying to recover an external drive that won’t mount).

I have two WD Passports, and had been using one exclusively for Time Machine backups for my MBP. Recently, right after I’d installed Yosimite I got a virus (iWorm) and needed to wipe my drive and start anew. Thankfully I listened to my instincts and did do some extrabacking up to my 500gb drive but I was really counting on restoring from the 1TB drive.
I’ve had a great amount of distress because although my system immediately asked for my Time Machine password it stopped appearing in the Finder section. I tried swapping USB cables, tested the ports, in Disc Utility it would show but would not mount, would not allow me to repair. Oh, originally the drive had appeared in Finder and I tried Migration Asssitant (I’m a total newb when it comes to Macs…good thing lots of Windows experience because this kinda stuff happened all the time :).