Windows 8 2nd hard drive not appearing

I know that many people are having this problem but nonw of the current answers help my situation

I have recently built a new pc for myself. my computer has a optical drive a 120gb ssd and a 1tb wd caviar black hdd. I installed windows 8 on the ssd, but now windows wont recognise that I have the 1 tb wd caviar black hdd. Yes I have tried using device and disk manager. I have also tried unplugging the ssd and running the windows 7 installation disk but once it gets to the part where you choose what drive you want to install it on the hdd does not appear, I have tried swapping around the sata and power cables between the hdd, ssd and optical drive so the hdd has had every combination of cables. My hdd is new and worked in a friends computer and completely clean, my hdd does vibrate on boot and seems to be in working condition. I have not tried using bios because I am not experienced in it and I thought that both my other drives are working so I thought my sata ports would all be good.

I have contacted wd support and was given no useful support.

any suggestions would be very much appreciated. thank you :slight_smile: sorry about the long message.

brod

Hello,

Since you check on disk management, is the drive showing at all?

Are you saying that the drive works on a friends computer? if so, the only thing that you need to check is the bios of the computer to see if the drive is not enable.

1 Like

yeah thanks for the help, I am pretty sure it is not on my disk management

this is what it looks like 

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/191/capturefgh.png/

ok well if we have any bios experts around here my bios confuses me, I have a gigabyte ga z77x.

thanks again getting this working would make my computer much more enjoyable. 

That picture is showing that a game you tried to run failed to launch ( Arma 2: Operation Arrowhead)

It says it could not load the DirectX run time that is in windows.