Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Visitor
imparatore
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-23-2011
0

Ultra DMA CRC Error Count

Hello. I have 2 hdd, one of 250gb sata and the other one 1tb WD Caviar Black (WD1001FALS). I'am seeing an error on wd with hd Tune pro 5.00. It says "Ultra DMA CRC Error Count". I changed cables but still same. What should i do? Thanks.
Esteemed Contributor
Awopero
Posts: 1,017
Registered: ‎11-03-2011
0

Re: Ultra DMA CRC Error Count

Mate, backup and replace it.

Click the Kudos star to say thank you for helpful posts and be sure to come back and 'Accept as Solution' under options for the post that solved your issue.
Visitor
imparatore
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-23-2011
0

Re: Ultra DMA CRC Error Count

You mean, this is serious ?

Frequent Advisor
rtguille
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎03-26-2011
0

Re: Ultra DMA CRC Error Count

First check that is not a controller/software issue.

 

In my case i was affected with a kernel bug affecting the pcie_aspm (pci express active state power management), and that affected the sata controller specifically. Each drive will randomly get i/o errors (in the worst case, and other disk error types). Luckily i have lots hdds, 2 wd 1tb blacks and 2 tb green, and some other 500gb blue, so i knew that the disks were ok (i could not have 6 bad hdd just after installing certain os.

Had i have just one drive and i would have replaced it without any doubt. In the end (after a lot of diagnosing work) it was fixed disabling pcie_aspm.

 

For exapmple

 

wd black #1:  UDMA_CRC_Error_Count = 159

wd black #2:  UDMA_CRC_Error_Count = 89

wd green #1: UDMA_CRC_Error_Count = 1

wd green #2: UDMA_CRC_Error_Count = 1

I dont have the other drives to check, but they also have non zero UDMA_CRC_Error_Count.

And these errors are almos a year old, since they don't get reset to zero.

 

Backups are allways recommended, that is for sure.

Check if the sata data or power cable are loose. What  os are you using. If you just have non-zero UDMA_CRC_Error_Count, then the disk is probably ok. 

 

 

 

Frequent Advisor
rtguille
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎03-26-2011
0

Re: Ultra DMA CRC Error Count

In addition, my hdd are:

 

WD1001FALS-00J7B1   x 2

WD20EARS-00MVWB0 x 2

 

The issues were experienced with M4N72-E (nforce 750a, i think) and Fedora 13 (Solved since Fedora 15).

 

 

Visitor
imparatore
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-23-2011
0

Re: Ultra DMA CRC Error Count

windows 7 64bit

Forums | Ideas | News and Announcements | Register | Sign in | Help | Forum Guidelines
Copyright © 2001 - 2014 Western Digital Technologies, Inc. All rights reserved. | Trademarks | Privacy | Community Terms of Service | Site Terms of Use | Copyright | Contact WD