RAID 1 Setup using 2 500GB Black Caviars?

Happy New Year!

My wife’s main hard drive in her computer failed.  Someone mentioned to
me that doing a RAID 1 set up on her computer would be ideal because
whatever she writes to the C: drive would get mirrored to the D: drive.

If the C: drive fails, all I have to do is replace it with the same size or bigger
hard drive and it will rebuild itself.  I was thinking of buying 2 WD 500GB
Black Caviar’s for this purpose.

This set up sounds too good to pass up however I had some questions about
setting it up. 

Should I set this up using the bios only or getting an adapter card? And if I set it up
through the bios only, would the system run slower than if it was configured using
an adapter?  And if I use an adapter instead of bios only, do you anticipate any
possible conflicts or challenges such as hang ups or BSOD?  I am a novice and
really don’t want any complications. 

I am hoping that setting up a RAID 1 will be very beneficial as far mirroring the data
and being able to rebuild it automatically should the main hard drive fail.  However
I just don’t want it to end up being more of a hassle than it’s worth?  I am just afraid
of future possible computer hangs or blue screens of death or other conflicts that can
or may arise from a set up like this?

My wife’s computer according to the Service Tag info is a Dell XPS400 Pentium D,
4GB RAM Motherboard Intel® 945P chipset, Prescott. Windows XP Media
Center Edition 2005.  The Dell Service Tag details lists a: Card, Controller, 1394A,
PC Interface, Loop, Adaptech.   I don’t know if this a controller card for the drives? 
Computer was purchased in 1/24/2006

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.  I would really appreciate it.

Mike in Miami

Your computer sounds a little older.  So, you might want to think about what you’re doing.  Couple things to consider: